Leigh Bardugo Author, Six Crows, Books, Husband, and Age

Leigh Bardugo Biography

Leigh Bardugo is a popular Israel-American fantasy novelist recognized for her young adult Grishaverse novels. Some of her novels include: include the Shadow and Bone trilogy and the Six of Crows and King of Scars duologies. Leigh also earned acclaim for her paranormal fantasy adult debut, Ninth House.

Prior to publishing her first novel, Leigh served in copywriting and journalism, and makeup and special effects. She was a singer in the band Captain Automatic from 2006 until 2007. In 2019, her first adult novel, Ninth House, was released by Flatiron Books. Ninth House received the 2019 Goodreads Choice Award for best fantasy novel. In January 2023, Leigh released the sequel to Ninth House, Hell Bent.

She also has essays and short stories in anthology collections including Last Night, A Superhero Saved My Life, Slasher Girls, and Monster Boys, as well as Summer Days and Summer Nights. Leigh’s books have been interpreted in 22 languages and published in more than 50 countries.

Quick Facts

Age 49 years old (born April 6, 1975)
Net Worth $3 million
Husband Married
New Book The Familiar
Occupation Author
Leigh Bardugo's photo
Leigh’s photo

Leigh Bardugo Age

Leigh was born on April 6, 1975, in Jerusalem, Israel. She is 49 years old. Leigh celebrates her birthday on April 6, every year.

Early Life And Education

She was born in Jerusalem, Israel, and raised in Los Angeles, California, U.S. Leigh was raised by her grandparents. From her dad’s side, she is secular Jewish and of Moroccan Jewish descent while from her mom’s side, she is of Ashkenazi Jewish (Russian-Jewish and Lithuanian-Jewish) descent. Later on, Leigh joined and graduated in 1997 with a degree in English from Yale University.

Leigh Bardugo Husband

Leigh is married to her partner whose name is not disclosed. She and her partner dated for four years and eloped together in 2022. She now resides in Los Angeles. Details of Leigh and her partner married in a wedding ceremony are currently under the radar.

Six Crows

On September 29, 2015, Leight published her fantasy novel Six of Crows. The novel follows a thieving crew and is primarily set in the city of Ketterdam. Six of Crows is the first of a duology, finished in Crooked Kingdom (2016). In 2016, the novel was named a New York Times Notable Book and an ALA-YALSA Top Ten Pick.

Leigh Bardugo Author

She is a fantasy author whose first novel Shadow and Bone was released in 2012 by Macmillan. Leigh’s other books in the trilogy, Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising, were released by Macmillan in 2013 and 2014 respectively. She defines the Shadow and Bone genre as Tsarpunk—fantasy with inspiration from early-19th-century Russia.

Leigh appeared on a Grishaverse panel alongside showrunner Heisserer at New York Comic Con in October 2020. She was positioned as the sixth most famous author between 2016 and 2021 on Goodreads. In 2023, Leigh reached a multi-book deal with Macmillan Publishers. She joined the WME agency. Leigh picketed for the Writers Guild of America.

Crooked Kingdom

On September 20, 2016, Leigh published her novel Crooked Kingdom. The novel was set in the Grishaverse. Leigh has talked about the possibility of writing a third book in this series but has not confirmed it. Crooked Kingdom starts in a gambling parlor named Club Cumulus.

The Familiar

On April 9, 2024, Leigh released her novel The Familiar. It is her standalone adult historical fantasy novel. From Leigh comes a highly anticipated historical fantasy set during the Spanish Golden Age.


As an author, Leigh has released several books since 2012 which include:

  • Shadow and Bone: Chapters 1-5 (2012).
  • Siege and Storm 2013.
  • Ruin and Rising (2014).
  • Six of Crows (2015).
  • Shadow and Bone Trilogy Boxed Set 2015.
  • Crooked Kingdom (2016).
  • The Language of Thorns (2017).
  • Wonder Woman (2017).
  • Ninth House (2019).
  • King of Scars (2019).
  • The Lives of Saints (2020).
  • Rule of Wolves (2021).
  • Demon in the Wood (2022).
  • Hell Bent (2023).
  • The Familiar (2024)

Hell Bent

On January 10, 2023, Leigh published her book, Hell Bent. The book brings to life an intricate world full of magic, violence, and all too real monsters. It is thick with history and packed with Leigh’s signature twists.

Shadow And Bone

On June 5, 2012, Macmillan Publishers published Leigh’s novel Shadow and Bone. It follows Alina Starkov, a teenage orphan who grows up in the Russia-inspired land of Ravka. Shadow and Bone is also the basis for the Netflix adaptation, Shadow and Bone, which debuted in April 2021.

New Books

Leigh’s most recent books include:

– The Familiar in 2024.
– Hell Bent in 2023
– Marple.

New Book

Leigh has reported her next book, a historical fantasy entitled The Familiar published in 2024. The new book is a standalone adult novel, set in the Spanish Golden Age and inspired by Leigh’s family history.


Leigh suffers from osteonecrosis and sometimes needs to use a cane. Osteonecrosis is the death of bone tissue because of an interruption of the blood supply. In most cases, she has pain and discomfort in a joint which increases over time.


During the acknowledgments section of Six of Crows, Leigh discloses she has osteonecrosis and sometimes needs to use a cane; this was a source of encouragement for one of the story’s six protagonists, master thief and gang boss Kaz Brekker, who uses a cane.

Reading Order

The order of reading Leigh’s book is starting from her first book Shadow and Bone until his recent book The Familiar published in 2024.


During an interview in March 2023, Leigh said that she was writing her first historical fantasy. It is set in Renaissance Spain and it features a very different kind of magic from her other novels, so she is definitely swimming in unfamiliar waters.

Books Series

Leigh wrote the first book Shadow and Bone in the DC Icons series. In September 2012, DreamWorks obtained the movie rights to Shadow and Bone with David Heyman and Jeffrey Clifford producing, but the project was not known.

Net Worth

Leigh has earned a net worth of $3 million due to his work as a fantasy author. She started writing her book is 2012.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where Does Leigh Bardugo Live?

Leigh lives in Los Angeles, in the United States.

How Old Is Leigh Bardugo?

Leigh is a 49-year-old who was born on April 6, 1975, in Jerusalem, Israel.

Is Leigh Bardugo Writing Another Book?

Leigh published her recent book The Familiar published in April 2024

Who Is Leigh Bardugo?

Leigh is the #1 New York Times bestselling writer of The Familiar, Ninth House and the creator of the Grishaverse (currently a Netflix original series) which spans the Shadow and Bone trilogy, the Six of Crows duology, the King of Scars duology—and much more. Her short fiction has starred in many anthologies such as The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Social Media Account

Instagram – lbardugo